Food Allergy Experience

Sugar Cookies- Vegan, Allergy-free

DSCF7996Its Christmas time! I love this time of year! One of my favorite activities is making Christmas cookies. Last year I was unsuccessful at producing an edible, allergy-free version. This year….SUCCESS! I made my first batch on Sunday, well, I actually made two batches. One with Jule’s flour and the other with a hodge-podge of flours that I had handy. The reason for the latter, I didn’t have any of Jule’s flour and I didn’t have enough of either one of my pre-mixed flours. So, I used 1.5 cups of my coconut blend flour, 1/4 cup of my Red Mill blend, 1/4 cup Sorghum flour and 1/4 cup of sweet rice flour. I must say that it, surprisingly turned out OK. The dough wasn’t great to sample but once it was cooked, it tasted just fine.

The Jule’s flour ones didn’t roll out at first as nice and certainly broke apart much easier than the other dough. The dough itself tasted better but after baking they both tasted just fine. When I say it didn’t roll at as nice, I mean the first several rolls caused the dough to break apart, however, this was very easily fixed and with continued rolling, I had no additional problems with breaking apart. However, it did stick to my table very easily which made moving the post-cut cookie delicate work. Next time I’m planning on rolling it out in between sheets of parchment paper as I did with my pumpkin pie crust.

Anyways, this recipe is super easy to do and is worth a shot. For those not needing it to be vegan or can use regular flour, I believe this recipe would turn out just fine if adjusted. And, of course, I use the recipe from here.

Jules Cut-out Sugar cookie

Ingredients

1/2 cup Shortening (I used Earth Balance)

1 cup Sugar

Egg Replacer for 1 egg

1/4 cup of Rice Milk

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

2 1/4 cup Flour (See note above regarding flour used)

2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

Directions:

Cream together shortening and sugar until light and fluffy. ¬†Add Egg Replacer, Vanilla, and milk. Beat until well blended. Add dry ingredients and blend until mixed together completely. Form dough into a ball and cover well with plastic wrap. Place in fridge for at least two hours. Note you want to make sure it’s not sticky. Roll-out on a floured surface and use cookie cutter to cut out shapes. Place a parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake 6-8 minutes in a preheated oven at 375.

On a side note, I sent a bunch of these to daycare for the Little Guy to share and most of the kids ate them. Several staff members tried them too. I would say this was a success. If you try them out, stop back and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

