Food Allergy Experience

Chocolate Pudding

I spent a lot time trying to decide what my first post here should include. I’ve been doing some research on food introduction and food allergies. I wondered if I should wait to do my first posting until I had compiled that information. That way the first post would be meaningful and informative.

But, I am a bit too anxious to get started with this project. And, alas, don’t want to wait. So, I decided I should post a recipe to something I craved. As you may picked up from my About section, I worry about ensuring my allergic son is not different from others. I want him to experience life and I want him to enjoy all types of foods. So, I decided to post a recipe for a food that I struggled finding a recipe.

Several months back I was craving chocolate pudding. I did a lot of searching for a recipe and found this one. I made it with coconut milk since I didn’t have rice milk. Despite the coconut milk giving it an ever-so-slight gritty texture, it was quite delicious. Everyone ate it up. Next time I make it I plan to use rice milk to see if it will have a smoother texture.

 

Vegan (soy-free!) Chocolate Pudding

Serves 4

This pudding was such a hit with my kids that my older son tried stealing his brother’s portion after he finished his own. You might want to double the recipe if you have more than one child.

 

  • 2 3/4 cups rice milk
  • 1/2 cup Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 2 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup + 2 Tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon gluten-free vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cognac, or brandy, or rum (optional)
  • Fresh raspberries, optional

1. Combine 2 1/2 cups rice milk, chocolate chips, and cocoa powder in a saucepan over medium heat. Whisk well,   heating until the chocolate chips are completely melted and combined with the rice milk. Keep just below a boil, to “scald” rice milk. Remove from heat.

2. In a bowl, combine cornstarch, sugar, and salt. Whisk well.

3. Add remaining 1/4 cup rice milk to cornstarch mixture, stirring until smooth.

4. Add to rice milk/chocolate mixture, stirring with a whisk. Continue whisking until pudding thickens to the consistency that it coats the back of a metal spoon.

5. Remove from heat. Stir in vanilla extract (and cognac).

6. Divide evenly among 4 ramekins or custard cups. Chill. Serve as is or topped with fresh raspberries.

Vegan (soy-free!) Chocolate Pudding © 2010 by Cybele Pascal

Leave a Reply

