Food Allergy Experience

On the Menu Tonight

I often look through the internet for recipes that I can adapt to make it work for us. I’ve really bumped this up in the last several months and have found so many new additions to my stand-by recipes. I really like having options since we don’t go out to eat much.

On the menu tonight: Pasta with garlic, chicken and white beans

Ingredients: Serves 3-4

3 Tbsp olive oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 15-oz can white beans

juice of half a lemon

1 Tbsp fresh oregano

1/2 tsp dried basil

12 ounces dried linguine

3 Tbsp fresh parsley, minced

4 chicken breasts cooked and cut-up

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and cook the pasta according to package directions, reserving about half a cup of pasta water when it’s done.  While the pasta cooks, heat the oil over medium heat.  Saute the garlic for just a few seconds (don’t let it burn), then add beans, chicken, lemon juice, oregano, and basil.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Cook until heated through.  Mash a few of the beans, add reserved pasta water, and mix to form sauce.  Toss in pasta and add parsley.
This recipe was posted as adapted from 1,000 Vegan Recipes. I’ve since adapted it to put the chicken. I add an extra TBSP of olive oil to compensate for the chicken. The first time I made it, I used Kidney beans instead of white beans and it was very good. I plan to make it true to the recipe with the white beans tonight.

Leave a Reply

