Food Allergy Experience

White Cake Yumma-licious!

I’ve tried and succeeded in making an excellent red velvet cupcake. Its been raved by non-allergic folks as being really good. Since I’d mastered those, I wanted to try a simple white cake. For whatever reason, I had a hard time finding an allergy-free white cake and was on the verge of adapting a “regular” recipe. Luckily, I found this recipe. I made it last weekend and it was a crowd pleaser. Even my husband ate two and he does not have a sweet tooth in his mouth.
Jean’s Famous Allergy-Free White Cake (this is not my recipe)

Whisk together dry ingredients:

3 c flour- don’t forget the xanthan gum if your flour doesn’t have it already

2 c sugar

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

Set dry ingredients aside. In a small bowl whisk together the wet ingredients:

3/4 c canola oil

2 tsp vanilla

2 c water

Add wet ingredients to dry. Mix until well blended. Add 2 TBS of white vinegar and stir quickly until well blended. Pour batter into cupcake pan or 2 9 inch round cake pans greased and floured. For cake bake at 350 for 25-30 min for cupcakes bake for 23-25 mins.

Simple enough and tastes great! I used coconut flour for the first time with this recipe and they tasted fantastic. These raised nicely too. I’ve found that sometimes when baking w/allergy-free batters they do not rise as much. That was not the case with this recipe.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Merry Christmas | Food Allergy Experience

    Leave a Reply

