Food Allergy Experience

Steak with Herb Sauce

A friend was coming to dinner who likes steaks. Whenever we have any dinner guests I try to find food that is allergy-free without them realizing I served them an allergy-free meal. Not that I don’t feed my family yummy food all the time, but its always nice to be able to put my best foot forward. I also like it when I can prove to others that despite the allergy issues, we eat pretty normal. We eat pretty good food.

I don’t claim to be a very good steak cook, but I did find this recipe a while back and wanted to give it a try. I liked it for its simpleness- I figure I couldn’t mess it up. I did alter some because I wasn’t able to get all the herbs fresh.

Ingredients:

1 cup packed basil leaves
1 cup packed flat-leaf parsley leaves
2 tbsp. packed fresh oregano leaves
1 tbsp. packed fresh rosemary leaves
1 tbsp. packed fresh thyme leaves
1 tbsp. packed fresh tarragon leaves
2 cloves garlic, minced
3⁄4 cup plus 2 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1 (24 oz.) 2″–3″-thick rib-eye, strip, or porterhouse steak

(I used dried parsley and rosemary and used 1/2 of the amount. I had about 1/2 of the amount of basil so I added some additional dried basil- about 1/4 of a teaspoon, I used 1/2 tbsp tarragon leaves because I couldn’t find fresh)

I doubled the recipe so there’s a bit more meat then you’d have. I set it out to be room temperature while I mixed the herbs with 3/4 cup olive oil.

 

Once its all mixed cover and set aside. It is best to let sit for at least 1 hr to allow all the flavors to meld together.

Once steaks are at room temp, season well with salt, pepper, and the remaining olive oil. Cook steaks over med-high heat until at desire doneness. Transfer to platter and let rest for 5 minutes. Slice against the grain and spoon over sauce.

The final product was fantastic! I served this with mashed potatoes made with rice milk and dairy-free butter and steamed veggies.

4 Comments

  1. pamasaurus

    That looks delicious! I may have to make this soon!!

    • It was absolutely fantastic! We have left over sauce that we’re putting with chicken tonight.

  2. pamasaurus

    You could probably even use it as a marinade! Just add a bit of balsamic vinegar as the acid (or lemon juice could work!) and soak your steak/chicken/pork in it! YUM!

    • pamasaurus

      That was supposed to reply to your comment, but obviously I fail at commenting today 😀

Leave a Reply

