Food Allergy Experience

One cracker, two recipes

Anyone who has spent much time in the health food section at the grocery store will notice the increased cost of these foods compared to non-health food products. This cost is well worth it for those of us trying to feed someone safely but that doesn’t stop us from noticing it. In an attempt to waste as little as possible and to allow for better budgeting, I’ve starting making a two-week menu and shopping for two weeks at a time.Β  Since starting this I’ve found that I waste less as I use the same ingredients in different recipes throughout the week.

I found this cracker a few months ago when I wanted to make a baked corn but then wasn’t sure what to do with the rest of the box. I’ve got two recipes here that will help you use up a box of crackers. Both recipes are basic home style recipes. Nothing fancy but very delicious.

This first one is adapted from a recipe from pamasaurous who regularly posts on http://omnomalicious.wordpress.com/

Baked Corn

Ingredients:

20 ounces of frozen corn
.5 cups rice milk
.25 cups DF/SF butter- We use Best Life Olive Oil
1.5 teaspoon salt
1.5 cups Gluten Free Crackle Bread, crumbled
2 tablespoons minced onion
3 tablespoons brown sugar

Combine the corn, butter, milk, and salt into large saucepan. Bring to simmer, cook until tender, and then remove from heat. Stir-in crumbs, onion, and brown sugar. Pour into a sprayed casserole dish. Bake at 350F for 30 minutes.

 

Meatloaf

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef

1/3 cup fresh Parsley- chopped

2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce (you can add less if you prefer)

2 cloves Garlic minced

1 Onion- Chopped

Salt and Pepper to taste

 

Mix in all ingredients. Form into loaf pan. Bake at 375 for 45 minutes, if you like ketchup cooked on the top, at 30 minutes, apply the ketchup and then cook for additional 15 minutes. Cooking times vary depending on the oven so you may want to check the internal temperature.

11 Comments

  1. pamasaurus

    I’m glad you figured out a way to make the baked corn!

    I menu plan a week at a time to save time/money. It’s just easier than worrying about what to make everyday πŸ˜€

    • I can’t believe it took me so long to decide on menu planning. Its saved so much time and money. My family loves the corn. πŸ™‚

  2. This is my absolute fav cracker, gluten free or not.

    • Its a great cracker. My kids will eat it not in recipes (plain or with sunbutter). It was a great find! Thanks for visiting my blog πŸ™‚

  3. yes, I find that this cracker is good w/just abt anything, I can have it often and not think that I’m over-loading on carbs and calories (like most GF breads are)

Trackbacks

  1. Baked Corn | omnomalicious
  2. An Allergic Child’s week of Suppers: Yes He Can Eat it (2) « Food Allergy Experience
  3. Thanksgiving Menu: Our Allergy-free Meal « Food Allergy Experience
  4. Food Allergic Child’s Week of Supper (15) | Food Allergy Experience
  5. Ham Balls | Food Allergy Experience
  6. Merry Christmas | Food Allergy Experience

Leave a Reply

