Food Allergy Experience

My Fear of His World

I can remember the days when I thought I was invincible. Back when I was a child and the world was at my feet. In truth though, it wasn’t that I thought I was invincible, it was that I had no idea how dangerous the world potentially was. I would climb tall trees and let myself sway in the wind not concerned with the possibility of falling and breaking my neck. I remember playing with firecrackers in undisclosed places where the potential to burn a building down (and myself with it) didn’t even occur to me. You know that phrase “Ignorance is Bliss”? Well often times it’s completely true.

I’m much older now. Perhaps even somewhat wiser. Of course with age and wisdom, my views on the world have changed. I definitely don’t feel like that invincible kid anymore. I understand fear and risks. I deal with things much differently now because of that. One thing I’m dealing with now is being on the opposite end of the invincible mindset. Not only does my son have to deal with the everyday average threats of life, he also has to deal with his allergies that are potentially fatal. I know that we aren’t indestructible beings but my little man has absolutely no idea the dangers of his world. It’s currently his playground and he doesn’t see the spinning saw blades and rolling boulders surrounding him. I watch with unease as he grows. I do my best to keep him away from those dangers but I can’t be by his side 24/7. I worry. A lot.

To put it simply… Every day I feel like I send him out on foot into a world covered in land mines. A world where everyone else has jetpacks.

Leave a Reply

