Food Allergy Experience

Strawberry Shortcake

One of my favorite desserts, especially in the summer, is strawberry shortcake. I’m used to two different types of shortcake, the store purchased yellow cake with the dipped in center and the biscuit-like home made one.    My mother never was a baker so she would buy the cake and pour the sweetened berries on top. My grandmother would make the shortcake using the bisquick brand flour mix. I loved the look, feel, and taste of the home made shortcake.

Several years back, I’d decided to try to make my own bisquick shortcake and was quite surprised how easy it truly was to make. I was equally surprised by the “oohs” and “ahhs” in response to them. This instantly became a favorite and I’d make them whenever possible.

This delectable desert was a thing of the past once food allergies became our lifestyle. Ummm, well, a thing of the past until right now! I found a simple shortcake recipe and altered it to make it allergy-free. I didn’t serve them until Memorial Day, but I did sample it ahead of time. It was quite good. My husband liked them and said he may just eat the shortcake part without berries. The only real difference between the non-allergy shortcake of my memory and the allergy-free one is, the latter is a bit dense. This recipe is going into the recipe box for latter this summer!

Shortcake (adjusted from This Recipe)

Ingredients:

2 C allergy-free flour (I used Jules Coconut flour mix and added in the 2 tsp xanthan gum)

4 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1T Sugar

2T Allergy-free butter

2T Shortening

3/4 C Rice Milk

1 T Vanilla

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 450

In large bowel, mix together flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Cut in butter and shortening. Mix in by hand rice milk and vanilla. Drop onto baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes until browned. Serve with fresh strawberries and some Rice Whip. You’d never know these are allergy-free!

Optional: Brush with melted DF butter and sprinkle sugar.

Leave a Reply

