Food Allergy Experience

Allergy-free, Vegan Mayo and Potato Salad

It seems like I’ve been talking a lot about my family and the type of food we ate while I was growing up. I believe the reason for this is that so much of who we are is defined in those early years. And so much of who we are is defined by our culture which is developed during those early years. And, part of our culture is food. So, its only natural that so much of who we are and what we find comfort in is the food of our childhood.

Growing-up we ate a lot of comfort foods. Almost everything was made from scratch and a can of Crisco was kept next to the stove. This wasn’t always the healthiest way to eat (referencing the can of lard). When it came to summer and barb-b-ques, my mom would make potato salad, 3 bean salad or onions and cucumbers. My mouth waters just thinking about her potato salad. She was a pro at making mayo based salads including egg salad and tuna salad.

Having potato salad for summer get togethers had become a staple in our house, thanks to me and my obsession with mayo based salad. My favorites being potato and pea and cheese. I’m now salivating again at the thought of pea and cheese salad.

Having a son whose allergic to dairy and eggs has made any mayo based salad a taboo in our house. I’ll have to confess that I’ve had store bough potato salad in the fridge once or twice but felt crazy guilty eating it in front him that I was forced to be a night-time, closet eater.

Randomly I came across this recipe for home-made allergy-free mayo. Instantly I was interested. My husband informed me I was NOT making mayo without something to make with it since it didn’t last long in the fridge. Luckily for me, I had weekly shopping to do and I picked-up some ingredients. Of course, I made potato salad.

Potato Salad

Rice Mayo

5 russet potatoes

2 stalks celery, chopped

1/2 onion, chopped

1 tbsp pickle relish or chopped pickles to taste

1.5 tbsp yellow mustard

And, well, making the potato salad is pretty easy from there. Boil the potatoes, let cool, mix everything together. Here’s a few pictures of preparation.

 

Here’s the home-made rice mayo, yummm.

 

Everything minus the potatoes

Potato salad!

4 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on easyhomemaking and commented:
    Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  2. I like the chopped pickle addition!

Leave a Reply

