Food Allergy Experience

Applesauce Pancakes

I love pancakes. My daughter loves pancakes. I’ve tried several allergy-free pancakes, both “boxed mixes” and from scratch. This recipe is by far my favorite. The texture is very similar to “real” pancakes just a little denser. Well, except this last time I made them because I forgot the xanthan gum and they were spongy. But we should just forget about that and move on to the proper pancake recipe.

Applesauce Pancakes

1 cup Flour- we use Mama’s Coconut Blend (mixed with  1/2 tsp xanthan gum if your flour doesn’t have it)

3 Tablespoons white sugar

2 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 1/2 tablespoon Best Life buttery spread

3/4 cup water

1/4 cup applesauce

In a medium bowel mix your flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.

Melt butter and in a small bowel mix it with water and applesauce. Once well mixed, stir it into the dry ingredients. There may be lumps.

Cook your pancakes as you normally will.

If you wanted banana pancakes you could use 1/2 a banana in replacement of the applesauce. I’m planning to try that next.

Happy Cooking!

5 Comments

  1. pamasaurus

    I hate when I forget something in a recipe! At least you found something that works for you!

    • I know! I’d like to say the kids were distracting me, but that wasn’t the case this time.

  2. I can’t wait to try these!

    • You’ll have to let me know how they turn out.

Trackbacks

  1. Vacation Food | Food Allergy Experience

Leave a Reply

