Food Allergy Experience

Homemade Allergy-free Butterfingers

This very well may be my most sought after recipe. Just this last week I’ve given out this recipe 3 times. It’s awfully yummy, and surprisingly tastes like the candy bar its named after. I found this recipe on Pinterest and then modified it to meet our allergy-free needs.

Ingredients

1 bag candy corn

1 jar Sunbutter

1 bag Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips

Directions

Melt the bag of Candy corn in either the Microwave or on the stove top. Once melted to a smooth consistency. Moving quickly stir in the Sunbutter until completely mixed in. Spread out on a bar pan or jelly roll pan covered with wax paper. Let cool completely. Once its cooled, cut into desired sized pieces. Melt the chocolate and dip the pieces into the chocolate. Let cool on wax paper. I keep mine in the freezer but you can store it how you would typically store your chocolate candies.

So simple but so good! Enjoy!

7 Comments

  1. I’m gonna make my own version of this recipe. Great information here.

    • Thanks! Let me know how your’s turn out and what/if any changes you make 🙂 I love learning from others too!

  2. Have you found any allergy-friendly (no soy, corn syrup) candy corn?

    • Your question prompted me to look on-line at the brand of candy corn I use (which is Brach’s). I check the bag I buy everytime and I never saw a soy ingredient. However, when I look online, low and behold it says soy protein! I now wish I had a package to look at…since my Little Guy is allergic to Soy. I will have to investigate this! In regards the the Corn syrup, I’ve not found one that’s free of that.

    • Your question prompted me to look on-line at the brand of candy corn I use (which is Brach’s). I check the bag I buy everytime and I never saw a soy ingredient. However, when I look online, low and behold it says soy protein (http://www.candyfavorites.com/shop/candy-ingredients-brachs-unwrapped.php)! I now wish I had a package to look at…since my Little Guy is allergic to Soy. I will have to investigate this! In regards the the Corn syrup, I’ve not found one that’s free of that.

      Ok, in further investigation in regards to the Brach candy corn per this website: http://www.brachs.com/products/everyday/mellowcremes/candy-corn there is no soy listed in the ingredients.

  3. Just discovered your blog! Thanks for this recipe!

    • Your welcome! I’m so glad you found your way here!

Leave a Reply

