Food Allergy Experience

Pineapple Chicken

As I was looking through my recipes, I was quite surprised that I’d not posted this one yet. I make our menu on a two-week schedule so I’m not running to the store weekly. There are a few things I know the kids eat well every time. One of those is Pineapple chicken. So it makes the menu every time. This chicken is tangy and sweet. I love how honey and Dijon mustard blend together. I will confess (although, maybe I shouldn’t) that I do lick the spoon after I’m all done stirring the honey and mustard together.  (Shhh…don’t tell, I’d hate for anyone to know/think I’m weird.) I serve it over rice or Quinoa.

Ingredients

4-5 chicken breast, boneless and skinless

1 tsp Thyme

1 TBSP Oil

1 can of cubed Pineapple

1 TBSP Cornstarch

1/4 Cup Dijon Mustard

1/4 Cup Honey

2 cloves Garlic, minced

Warm the oil and brown the chicken covered in Thyme. While the chicken is browning, pour the juice from the can Pineapple and save. Mix 2 TSP of pineapple juice with cornstarch and set aside. Add garlic, honey, mustard to the pineapple juice and mix well. Set aside. Once the chicken is browned, add pineapple juice, bring to boil. Lower heat to simmer and cover. Cook chicken for 15 go 20 mins until juices run clear. Remove the chicken and keep warm. Add cornstarch to the pan and bring to boil. Stir constantly until sauce thickens, about two minutes. Re-add chicken breast and pineapple. Cook until completely heated. Serve as mentioned over rice or quinoa.

Chicken covered with Thyme

Cornstarch and pineapple juice

Add the pineapple juice to pan

Chicken removed, cornstarch added, sauce thickened

Serve and Enjoy!

10 Comments

  1. pamasaurus

    This looks delicious!

  2. Nice combination of sauce ingredients!

  3. Wow, this looks lovely! I can’t wait to try it, I love pineapple and I love chicken 🙂

    • I hope you like it! Let me know what you think once you try it 🙂

      • Thanks Dianty, I will 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. An Allergic Child’s week of Suppers: Yes He Can Eat it (2) « Food Allergy Experience
  2. An Allergic Child’s Week of Suppers (5) « Food Allergy Experience
  3. An Allergic’s Child’s Week of Suppers (12) | Food Allergy Experience
  4. An Allergic Child’s Week of Suppers (20) | Food Allergy Experience

Leave a Reply

