Food Allergy Experience

Granola and More Granola- Vegan

As if I need to say it but living with food allergies take away some of those simple foods from our house. One of those is granola. I’d not given much thought to what was in it until I tried to find a granola bar that was safe for the little guy. I realized something, granola bars almost always contain nuts and often contain milk, wheat or soy. So, no granola for the little guy. Unfortunately, I’m not good at taking no for answer. So, I decided to look into making my own granola and bars. What I found surprised me……Its crazy easy to make!

The recipe I found for the granola bars was marked as no bake. I did make it no bake and ate it some but then decided to bake it. Mostly because as no bake they seemed to fall apart a bit which the recipe said I could add more honey. However, I felt like they were sweet enough. So I baked them and it did seem to help.

This recipe was adapted from here:

Granola Bars  (see pictures at the below)

Ingredients

4 cups old-fashioned oats

1/4 TBSP see salt

3/4 cups sunbutter, warmed

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips

In a large bowel, mix together oats, salt and chocolate chips. Add in the honey until well mixed. Stir in the warmed sunbutter. If the mix isn’t sticking together enough, add more honey. Spread the mixture out over a bar pan. At this point you can either place it in the fridge for at least an hour or you can bake it at 375 for 10 mins.

I also made some home-made granola and adjusted this recipe.

Basic Granola

Ingredients

1 cup Coconut Oil

1 cup Honey

1/2 cup Brown Sugar

4  tsp Vanilla

2 tsp Cinnamon

15 cups Rolled Oats

Directions

Pre-heat the oven to 375, Bring Oil, Honey, Brown Sugar in a small pan to a low boil. Remove from heat and stir in the cinnamon and vanilla. Pour over oats in a large bowl. Stir until well coated. Spread oats in 2-3 pans (I recommend the jelly roll pan/bar pan but you could also use a 9 x13 baking pan). The thinner the layer of granola the better it bakes and the easier it comes out of the pan. Bake for 10 minutes. Stir oats and shut off the oven. Leave in oven overnight and you’ll wake up to the wonderful scent and a healthy breakfast!

Pictures:

Granola bars

Granola baked

2 Comments

  1. Josh

    I’m going to try this. Not having granola bars has been tough.

    • Let me know how it turns out. I’ve been trying to add it into my 2 year-olds diet now and he’s not a big fan of granola, I think because he’s not had it before. However, everyone else likes it.

Leave a Reply

