Food Allergy Experience

Banana Bread- Allergy-free, Vegan

I love bread and pastas. This passion is one that I and my non-allergic daughter share. It was one that I hoped to share with my son. I must say he does love pastas (allergy-free of course). Now, bread is a whole ‘nother story. It’s so hard to find one that, well, tastes OK and has a decent texture. For regular bread, we love the Little Aussie Bakery in San Antonio, Tx. Unfortunately, we live in the midwest.

Recently, I’ve been craving banana and pumpkin bread. I wanted to make some but was really too busy to research a recipe. And ironically, I was out of flour. While shopping at Target, I looked to see if by fate, they had flour that was safe for the Little Guy. Lo and behold, luck was on my side. And, better yet, the stars aligned because on the back of the flour was a recipe for banana bread. Wow….way too easy. Sometimes prayers are answered!

The best part of this entire story is, the bread was actually quite good. The recipe calls for Raisins and I did put them in this time. However, it seemed to make the bread pretty sweet. Next time I’m planning to make it without. Without further ado, here’s the recipe adapted from Bob’s Red Mill’s flour:

Ingredients

1/3 cup Canola Oil

2/3 cup Brown sugar, packed

Egg Replacer for 2 eggs

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 3/4 cups Allergy-free flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill All-purpose)

2 tsp Baking Powder

1 1/4 tsp Cinnamon

1 tsp Xanthan Gum (if your flour doesn’t already contain it)

1/2 tsp Salt

1 1/2 cup Ripe Banana, Mashed

1/2 cup Raisins (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 9×5 inch loaf pan. Cream together oil, sugar, egg replacer and vanilla in a large bowl with an electric mixer. In a separate bowl mixed together the flour, xanthan gum, salt, baking powder, and cinnamon. Alternating with the bananas add the flour mixture with the egg mixture. Beat until smooth. If adding raisins, stir them in. Batter will be somewhat soft. Transfer into a pan. Bake for 1 hour.

7 Comments

  1. How great! I miss banana bread. Can’t have the bananas (anaphylaxis) and avoid dried fruit because of my mold sensitivity. I do love zucchini bread and pumpkin bread.

    • You wouldn’t happen to have a pumpkin bread recipe by chance?

  2. Does the bean flavor from the flour stand out? I quit using that mix because the flavor was too strong. I might try this with Millet flour. I’ll let you know! I have a doughnut recipe that uses bananas and is so yummy. I’ve even put enjoy life chocolate chips and blueberries in them!

    • I did not notice one. I’ll love hearing how it turns out with millet flour…. I’ve craving doughnuts….mind sharing the recipe?

      • I sure will! I thought I had blogged about them, I haven’t! I will get that to you asap!

      • Dianty

        Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. An Allergic Child’s Week of Suppers (8) « Food Allergy Experience

Leave a Reply

