Food Allergy Experience

4 Days and Counting

We are now four days out until we get allergy testing again. I’m extremely excited and nervous because the last test results were very positive- 3 allergens went down. In fact, they decreased enough that if they dropped again, we may get to do some food trials.

It’s very difficult to explain how I feel about this upcoming testing. We’ve done it several times so the whole anxiety of a blood draw really isn’t playing into my emotions. I believe my perceived IMPORTANCE of the test is certainly playing into my emotions. I mean, we could seriously, get some food back! He may have more bread choices! Baking may become easier! I’m almost giddy thinking these thoughts.

On the other hand, I don’t want to get ahead of myself. I don’t want to be disappointed. If they haven’t dropped and we are still in the same place, I will be very, very disappointed. I also know that 2 of his allergies actually went up last time, so I’ll be even more anxious if those two continue to raise.

So, as you can see I’m torn. I’m trying to keep myself busy to distract me from the fact we are so close to life maybe getting easier. Anyone else get these mixed feelings? How have you coped?

7 Comments

  1. What are you doing in between these tests that make him less sensitive?

    • Basically just avoidance in regards to his food allergies. He does take a couple daily antihistamine for his seasonal allergies and an asthma med, but I don’t think they play much of a role for his food allergy.

      • I did avoidance, food rotation, provocation/neutralization treatment and am currently doing LDA (low dose antigen) therapy. It stinks to have food allergies and I am an adult. I feel for what you and your child are going through.

      • LDA is becoming more popular around here. There are a few in my allergy group that’s doing it. How far are you in your treatment?

  2. Hmm – left a reply but don’t see it. I have been doing LDA for nearly four years. Foodwise, I have gotten back strawberries, soy, almonds, lettuce, tomatoes, corn and oats. I am sure there are some others but I cannot think of them right now. I did try melon and they still give me problems despite the shots. I am going to sit down and make a list of foods I want to try. I have been leary of trying banana because I was anaphylactic to it. I may try avocado.

  3. pamasaurus

    I’m sending him lots of positive energy!! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

