Food Allergy Experience

Courage is….

My Little Guy amazes me. He had his blood drawn on Monday to see how the allergies have changed (improved hopefully). He sat on my lap and didn’t squirm when the tourniquet was applied. He didn’t squirm when the second “helper” came in to hold his arm. He didn’t squirm when the needle came out and slid easily into his arm. He didn’t squirm as he watched (yes, not just watched, but intently watched) as the blood poured into the test tube. He was so much braver then I’ve seen adults act when they get blood drawn.

When we were all done, he jumped down from my lap. He repeated my “Thank-you” to the staff. As he slipped his little arms into his coat, he looked up at me and said, “Mommy that hurt!” That was his one and only complaint and it was given several minutes after the completion of the draw. There were not tears, just a simple, that hurt. He’s absolutely amazing! God gave him the right personality to endure all this medical stuff. My hurt, is bursting with pride for this little two-year-old.

We are two days out from his testing and still waiting to hear the results which isn’t surprising as they can take up to a week to come back (the blood gets sent out, I think to Mayo). So, we are now, patiently, ever so patiently waiting. For those who are praying or sending us positive thoughts, please continue to do so as we wait. I think the waiting is the hardest part!

Here’s my brave kangaroo!

4 Comments

  1. The Aller-Dad

    I think that’s the squirrel from Ice Age.

    • On second glance, I think you’re right. Oh well… I’ll still call it a Kangaroo.

  2. Can’t wait to hear the results! Here’s praying for good results.

Leave a Reply

