Food Allergy Experience

Pumpkin Custard Pie- Allergy-free


I’d planned on writing this over the weekend but have been without reliable internet for several days. So, my apologies to anyone looking for this recipe.

Pumpkin pie is one of those required items for holiday meals. I’ve struggled with trying to find one that was safe for my Little Guy. This year I felt very determined to find something. I wasn’t overly optimistic, so when I found this recipe, I was more than excited. Beside the texture of the pie itself being more custard like, it really tasted very much like the original pie. The crust is very fragile which is a bit of an understatement. However, its pretty easy to patch it. I used the recipe from here. When I shopped for my flour I’d missed that there were 3 different flours so I didn’t buy the white rice flour. I did substitute it with my mixed general flour and I don’t think it made a difference in the crust.

Pumpkin Custard Pie

Pie Crust

Ingredients:

1/2 cup White Rice Flour

1/2 cup Sorghum Flour

1/4 cup Sweet White Rice Flour

1 TBSP Sugar

1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 Cup Shortening

2-4 TBSP Water

Directions:

In a large bowl whisk flours, salt, and sugar. Using a pastry cutter, cut in shortening until there are no large pieces. Stir in the water. It should start coming together. Cut to equal large pieces of parchment paper. Generously flour one piece of paper with the sweet rice flour. Lightly flour to top of the dough and cover with the second piece of parchment paper. Roll over the top of the parchment paper covered dough until its large enough for your pie pan. This is a very fragile crust, carefully remove the top parchment paper. Gently in one solid movement place crust in pan and slowly remove the second parchment paper. Patch as needed and trim the edges to look pretty. Cover with plastic wrap and cool in fridge over night or at least 4 hours. Prick gently with fork. Bake in the oven at 425 degrees until brown about 10 mins.

Pumpkin Custard Filling

Ingredients

1 3/4 C Coconut Milk, Unsweetened, Divided

3/4 C Sugar

4 TBSP Cornstarch

1 3/4 TSP Pumpkin Pie Spice

1/2 TSP Salt

1 Can (15 oz) Pumpkin

Directions

In a medium sauce pan, combine 1 1/2 cups coconut milk and sugars. Bring to boil over medium-heat. In a small bowl, whisk together cornstarch and remaining 1/4 of cup of coconut milk. Whisk cornstarch mixture into coconut sugar whisk. Continue to whisk and cook until mixture boils and thickens. Add pumpkin spice and salt. Whisk to combine. Reduce heat to low. Add pumpkin and whisk until completely combined. Spoon into cooled pie crust. Cover with plastic to prevent skin forming. Place in fridge overnight.

Pictures below:

Ingredients assembled

Flour mixed

Rolling out the dough

Taking turns rolling out the dough

Yes, it’s very fragile!

Don’t worry, I patched it. All pretty now 🙂

Pie filling on the stove

Almost ready to eat!

Leave a Reply

