Food Allergy Experience

Sunbutter Blossom Cookie- Allergy-free, Vegan

This holiday season I’ve made so many new yummy treats! I can’t believe how lucky I’ve been in what recipes I’ve found or found a way to adapt. I’m planning on posting them one by one on here. It just gonna take me a bit!

The peanut butter blossom cookie was always one of my mom’s favorite cookie. She’d make them with the Brach’s star candy on top. As some of you know, my mom lives in a nursing home following several strokes and dementia. Although, I’m uncertain which is the cause for her memory loss, but no matter what the cause is, her memory is slowing taking my mom away me. This thievery has caused more urgency to find ways to reconnect to her.(Strange how there is the need once someone is gone vs when you have them one phone call away).

I had a huge pull to make these for nostalgic purpose and then when omnomalicious posted their version, I had renewed sense of purpose. And so, I searched and searched until I came upon this recipe. They were quite delish! I was a bit concerned they might turn green as some who’ve baked with sunbutter say that happens. However, these cookies remained an appropriate shade of brown.

20121219_201502

Here is the recipe for Vegan, Sunbutter Blossom Cookies:

Ingredients:

1 cup Sunbutter, creamy style

1 cup Sugar

1 Egg Replacer Egg

2 tsp Vanilla Extract

Enjoy Life Chocolate Mega Chunks for each cookie (approx 20)

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350. In a large bowl, mix together sunbutter, sugar, egg replacer, and vanilla extract. Roll dough into 1 inch balls and place 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet. Bake 12 minutes. Remove from oven and place one Enjoy Life Mega Chunk on each cookie. Press down gently on cookie. Bake for an additional 3-5 mins. Remove and cool.

These cookies were great. My daughter loves them. My son, is a bit odd sometimes in what he likes, he like the chocolate on time. Mostly he LOVES crumbling the cookies in his hand.

Leave a Reply

