Food Allergy Experience

Brown Sugar Glazed Carrots- Vegan, Allergy-Free

This has become one of my favorite, easy ways to make carrots and makes me feel like I’m actually cooking- you know more so then just grabbing a bag of frozen. The glaze isn’t too strong so it doesn’t cover up the carrots’ natural sweetness. It actually adds to the carrots natural flavors. The odd thing about this recipe is my kids won’t even try them and they LOVE carrots. Well, they LOVE the frozen carrots cut into tiny little squares. So I’m guess it must be the fact that I’m giving them carrots that aren’t nicely cubed….I guess. Who really knows what’s going on in a 2.5 and 4.5 year-olds’ minds!

This is one of the few recipes that I actually did not adapt, AT ALL. I did exactly what the directions said. I got the recipe from the Better Homes and Garden Cookbook, the newer one (I have two, an old one published in 47, I think, and then a new one from a couple of years ago). I have it pictured below.

20130109_094535

Here is the Brown Sugar Glazed Carrots

Ingredients:

1 lb Carrots

1 TBSP Allergy-free Butter

1 TBSP Brown Sugar

Salt

Pepper

Directions:

Peel and slice carrots. Place in a skillet (or pan), cover with water and sprinkle in some salt. Boil until crisp-soft,     about 8-10 minutes. Drain all water and return carrots back to skillet (pan). Add Allergy-free Butter and Brown Sugar. Cook and stir until carrots are glazed, add salt and pepper (we personally did not add any). Eat and enjoy.

Since I’ve learned glazes are crazy simple, I plan to do more of them. So, look forward to more glazes coming soon (I’ve already got my mind on a honey glaze and maybe an apricot- if I can figure it out!).
20130107_173054

Peeled and sliced Carrots in just enough salted water to cover

20130107_174655

Glazed carrots ready to eat! Yummmm.

5 Comments

  1. pamasaurus

    This sounds amazing. I grew so many carrots in my garden. They’re in my freezer, and I might have to use them for this!

  2. o.O fresh from the garden, yumm! Try it and let me know what you think 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. An Allergic Child’s Week of Suppers (10) « Food Allergy Experience
  2. Embrace: Failure « Tales of the Working Mom
  3. Food Allergic Child’s Week of Suppers (13) | Food Allergy Experience

Leave a Reply

