Food Allergy Experience

Honey Garlic Chicken- Allergy-Free

I love slow cooker cooking. It makes dinner so much easier! Especially when its a busy time in the house. Yesterday I made this recipe and it was fantastic. My kids ate it without too much coaxing. They love eating  meat off a bone so I was sure it would be a hit with them. I had to alter the recipe because it calls for soy sauce which we don’t use because of the Little Guy’s soy allergy. I substituted broth instead and it tasted good. My husband was very nervous about my substitution but he too liked it. I doubled the recipe and it worked great that way.

20130116_175830

Honey Garlic Chicken

Ingredients:

4 Chicken thighs (I used Skinned and bone-in)

4 gloves of garlic (If you don’t like garlic as much you can use 3)

1 tsp dried basil

1/2 cup Broth (We use Swanson’s broth)

1/2 cup Ketchup

1/3 cup honey

Directions:

Place chicken in the bottom of the slow cooker. In a separate bowl mix the rest of the ingredients. Pour evenly over the chicken. This one cooks really pretty fast. Cook on low for 6 hours or high for 5. I used a 6 quart crockpot and I did a combination of high and low, it was ready to eat in 5 hours. Serve over rice.

The meat is super tender and falls easily off the bone. This made it great for the kids because it was very easy for the kids. The flavor was really good. This recipe will be on my menu plan again for sure!

6 Comments

  1. This looks good. I don’t do soy because of my mold allergy and the same for Ketchup. Maybe I could figure out a substitution for the ketchup. Thank you for sharing.

    • pamasaurus

      maybe tomato paste? I’m clueless, so forgive me, but would that be mold allergy acceptable?

      • If that was mold safe, that would be a good substitute.

Trackbacks

  1. An Allergic Child’s Week of Suppers (8) « Food Allergy Experience
  2. Food Allergic’s Child Week of Suppers (14) | Food Allergy Experience
  3. Food Allergic Child’s Week of Supper (15) | Food Allergy Experience

Leave a Reply

