Food Allergy Experience

Applesauce Porkchops

When my mom would make pork chops she always served applesauce. Now, it could be because she baked the pork chops into   but I like to believe it’s because applesauce goes well with pork. No matter what the reason, when I think of pork chops, I think about dipping them into applesauce. This, of course, makes me think of mom.

Recently I’ve become obsessed with my crockpot, it may be because I got a new one for Christmas or if it’s because life’s been busy but I still need healthy food to feed the family. I adapted this recipe from a chicken recipe. I think next time I will put a little less pepper in it as my Little Guy didn’t seem to care for it. My husband loved it. My daughter ate it OK, but again I think a little less pepper would help  her out too. I personally really liked it. The pork was moist and basically broke apart.

20130125_074626

Applesauce  Pork Chops

Ingredients:

4  Pork Chops (I used thin cut but I think bone-in ones would work good too)

1 1/2 cups Unsweetened Applesauce

1 T Dried Onion Flakes

1 T Apple Cider Vinegar

1/4 tsp Cinnamon

1/2 tsp Black Pepper (I plan to cut it back to 1/4 next time)

2 Cloves Garlic

Directions: 

Place pork chops in the bottom of a crockpot. I used a 6 quart but think it would be more appropriate in a smaller one 3 or 4 quart. In a bowl mix together all other ingredients and pour over the pork chops. Cook high 3-4 hours or low 5-7, I did a combination of high and low and it cooked fairly quickly.

2 Comments

    Trackbacks

    1. An Allergic Child’s Week of Supper (17) | Food Allergy Experience
    2. An Allergic Child’s Week of Suppers (21) | Food Allergy Experience

    Leave a Reply

