Food Allergy Experience

Honey Pork chops with Peaches

Pork chops to me are the hardest meat to work with. They have a flavor of their own but have always seemed bland to me. My mom use to bake them to death and beyond and then serve them with applesauce to help re-moisten them. It didn’t really work and I found myself saying “no” to pork. My husband grew-up with more “salty” pork chops as is traditional in Asian cooking. He thinks its weird people serve applesauce with pork chops or in general make meat sweet.

Now that you’ve gotten our background story with pork chops, it shouldn’t surprise you of our responses to this recipe. I personally loved it! It was a perfect mix of sweet and pork. The kids ate it quickly. My husband said it was good but sweet; like I said, he’s not overly fond of the sweet with meat.

Here’s the recipe:

20130204_193005

Honey Glazed Porkchops with Peaches

Ingredients:

4-5 thin cut Porkchops

1 medium Onion, sliced

1 can Peaches in light syrup, drained

1 cup Chicken Broth (I use Swanson)

1 TBSP GF, SF Flour (I used Jules)

2 tsp Apple Cider Vinager

4 TBSP DF, SF Butter (I used Bestlife), Divided

2 TBSP Honey, divided

Directions:

Melt 2 TBSP butter with 1 TBSP honey in a skillet. Add porkchops and brown both sides. Remove pork and cover to keep warm. Then melt remaining 2 TBSP of butter and 1 TBSP honey. Cook onions and peaches until onions are browned. Stir in flour and mix frequently for about 1 min. Add broth and vinegar. Bring to boil over high heat then lower to low heat. Add porkchops and cook until done. I served it over rice.

Have you tried anything new recently? Happy Cooking!

20130204_185640Peaches and onions browning

20130204_191623

Peaches, onions, and porkchops in skillet

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Food Allergic Child’s Week of Suppers (13) | Food Allergy Experience

    Leave a Reply

