Food Allergy Experience

White Chili- Vegan, Allergy-free

It seems I’ve picked-up this idea, tradition, or routine of making soups on Fridays. Now, I don’t like serving up the same soup every week or even every other week. Before having an allergic child, the only soup I’d ever made that didn’t come out of a can was Chili. Don’t get me wrong, I love a basic chili. However, it would get desperately old if I ate it every Friday. It’s been nice to try some other soups and this white chili recipe was a home run with the family.

But before I get to that soup, I thought I’d link to a few of the other soups in case you want to try out a new soup.

Harvest Soup, Chicken and Veggie, and Chicken Tortilla Soup.

20130222_175100

White Chili

Ingredients:

16 oz Corn, Frozen

2 cans White Beans

4 oz Green Chilies

2-3 cloves of Garlic

1.5 c Vegetable Broth (or chicken broth)

1 Med Onion, Chopped

1 Lemon’s Juice

1 1/2 tsp Cumin

1/2 tsp Italian Seasoning

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

Pour all ingredients into the crock pot. Do not drain beans. Cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 4-5 hours. I did a combination of High and low for 6 hours.

This recipe the kids loved. In fact my daughter informed me she did not like the red beans (kidney beans/chili beans) and I should make this soup all the time. Since she’s a picky eater, I will take that as one of the best compliments given to my cooking! If you try it, please stop back and let me know what you think.

Happy Cooking!

 

Linked up at: Our Simple Country Life

Leave a Reply

