Food Allergy Experience

Jambalaya is a hit!

I’ve made this twice and have gotten great results both times. So, I must chalk this up to a success and document it! My husband was the one who recommended me to make a Jambalaya. Before our food allergy journey, we use to eat a boxed Jambalaya. I wasn’t sure I could pull it off, but what I found was that it’s actually really easy. Well, at least this version is. It made a good amount so we have leftovers, which is always a bonus for a recipe.

I believe the family favorite part of this recipe was the sausage. My son called them hotdogs and my daughter just asked for the round parts. This is a mild Jambalaya since the kids were eating it. In order to spice it up a bit, my husband added his own hot sauce. I’m not a big spicy person, so I felt the sausage added enough spice.

I’ve inserted a picture of the Jambalaya at the bottom, but I’m not 100% certain its possible to take a good picture of it….So, forgive the picture and try the recipe! I adapted the recipe from here.

Jambalaya

Ingredients:

1 TBSP DF butter or Olive Oil

1 1/2 Cups Andouille Sausage, sliced- we used Johnsonville and I used the whole pack

3/4 Yellow Onion, diced

1 Green Pepper

2-3 Celery Stalks, diced

1 Garlic Clove, diced

3 Chicken Breast, chopped

1 TBSP Parsley, chopped

1 TBSP Thyme, chopped

1 TBSP Parsley, chopped

2 Cups Rice

2 Cups Tomato Sauce

2 Cups Chicken Broth

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

Melt butter or warm oil in a large pot. Add sausage, onion, pepper, celery, and garlic and saute until the sausage begins to brown. Add the chicken and allow to brown on all sides. Add herbs and rice followed by the tomato sauce, chicken broth, and salt and pepper. Bring to boil and lower to simmer to reduce. Cook uncovered for 20-25 minutes until liquid is reduced while stirring occasionally.

Now as I’m looking over the recipe to post it, I noticed that I was pre-cooking my rice because I thought it said pre-boiled rice and it really says parboiled rice. And since I use Asian rice, I think it gives it a “mushy look” vs a more traditional “rice” look. So, I plan to try it again with added, dry rice vs the pre-cooked and see if it comes out looking less mushy!

Despite looking mushy, it really was good. Please disregard the “mushiness”  in this picture.

20130319_112653

Happy cooking!

3 Comments

  1. In my eyes this dish is always a hit. Your recipe sounds fantastic. If you are looking for a great beer to go along with this dish then follow my blog for the best recommendations.

  2. Hey, I just passed your blog onto a friend. He recently discovered he has celiac disease. He is very excited to try your recipes.

    • Oh great! I hope he finds a recipe or two that’s helpful.

Leave a Reply

