Food Allergy Experience

Homemade Taco Seasoning

There was a time that I thought we’d never eat anything “normal” again. I felt lost and floundering. Then, as I read labels I realized that this was an unfounded fear. Really, unfounded. One food that I found we could eat was tacos. I’ll admit that I was glad to have a taco seasoning that was safe and wasn’t crazy expensive. And, we use it regularly since tacos is a main staple in our home. I’ll also admit, that making my own taco seasoning prior to recently was a fleeting thought. A thought, I gave little thought too.

Well, that changed when my sister-in-law who I affectionately refer to as the World Traveler visited last week. I’m honestly not sure who brought up the idea, but we talked about how easy it would be to make my own taco seasoning. Now this would solve lots of challenges regarding food allergies and the high levels of sodium in the pre-packaged taco seasonings. Now at first I wasn’t certain about it. I mean after all, I make so much from scratch as it is. However, the World Traveler did a quick search and it looked easy enough.

So, when last week I was struggling a bit to find something to make for dinner. I decided on tacos and I mixed up a quick taco seasoning. It was really pretty good. I plan to alter it a bit and make it in bulk next time.

Taco Seasoning

Ingredients:

1 TBSP Chili Powder

1/4 TSP Garlic Powder

1/2 TSP Onion Flakes

1/8 TSP Red Pepper Flakes

1/2 TSP Paprika

1/4 Dried Oregano

1 1/2 TSP Dried Cumin

1 TSP Sea Salt

1 TSP Black Pepper

Directions: 

In a small bowl mix together all spices and store in an air tight container. To use it mix approximately 2 TBSP with one pound ground beef and 1/2 cup water.

Leave a Reply

