Food Allergy Experience

Food Challenge: Shellfish

I know its been a busy several weeks when somehow I’ve not managed to post the results of the food challenge with shellfish. We had gotten the OK to try it at home instead of office since his numbers came back completely negative. Since we’d started Soy recently, we wanted to wait a bit.

I was a little nervous giving him his shrimp. We had a couple of Epi-pens just around the corner, you know, just in case. But he did awesome. I loved shrimp and it didn’t hate his body, meaning no allergic reaction. I kept it pretty simple for the food challenge. Stir-fry shrimp and green beans over rice.

Here’s the little guy eating his shrimp:

20130706_175719

 

I must confess that as he continues to add foods back to his diet, my menu planning becomes a bit more challenging…yes, you read that right. How might that be you ask? Well, simply because I now have to ensure he get’s one full serving of shrimp and soy every week. Even though it’s a bit more challenging, I’d gladly take it! It’s very amazing that we get to add more food into his diet. I’m certainly looking forward to his next lab draw and potentially getting even more food back!

3 Comments

  1. Hooray! I am so glad he has shrimp and is slowly getting more foods into his diet.

  2. pamasaurus

    Yay! Exciting news! Hopefully he continues to beat those allergies πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Pami! πŸ™‚ He’s certainly making awesome progress!

Leave a Reply

