Food Allergy Experience

Ham Balls

I had my first ham ball as a kid at church camp. I loved them and probably ate like 4 of them every time they were served. No one at home-made them. So, this made those little balls, a sweet treat! Unfortunately, I outgrown camp. It was several years before a friend told me she could make them. Oh, how excited I was to go have dinner at their house.

Well, now fast forward about 10 years. I’d not made them since that wonderful dinner at my friend’s house. Recently, I decided I really wanted ham balls. Most importantly, I wanted to make them safe for my little guy. Guess what i found out….they’re crazy easy to make. And the recipe makes a lot. We could freeze some but by the time I and the kids eat several, we have just enough for left overs.

So, when I’ve got a gem like this, I must share.

Here’s my super easy Ham Ball recipe. I do hope you enjoy them as much as we do!

Ham Balls

Ingredients:

2 Lbs Ground Ham

1 Lb Ground Sausage

1 1/2 Cups Allergy-free Crackers (we use these)

1 TBSP Oil, vegetable

2 Cups Brown Sugar, Packed

6 TBSP Apple Cider Vinegar

2 TSP Ground Mustard

Directions: 

Pre-heat oven to 350. In a large bowl mixed together ham, sausage, crackers and vegetable oil. Once well mixed, form into balls and place on a bar pan. In a smaller bowl,mix brown sugar, vinegar, and ground mustard. Drizzle brown sugar mixture over formed balls until desired coverage. Bake in oven for approximately 40 minutes.

I served mine with baked potatoes and pumpkin. This would also go really well with baked corn. I had intended on posting a picture of my finished product, but we at them all before i had the chance! Oops! Trust me, these are worth trying.

Have you tried anything new recently? I’d love to hear from you!

Happy Cooking!

2 Comments

  1. pamasaurus

    I’ve never heard of ham balls, but these sound pretty delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. An Allergic Child’s Week of Supper (23) | Food Allergy Experience

Leave a Reply

