Food Allergy Experience

Tangy Lemon Jello Chicken

Both of my kiddos are in dance. Every other year our studio puts on the Nutcracker and this is the year for it. So we are in the middle of Nutcracker season. This years production seems like it’s scheduled early being the weekend following Thanksgiving. The extra and last-minute rehearsals have started and we now have very hectic schedules. I will apologize now if I seem a bit absent over the next several weeks.

With the last-minute rehearsal changes, finding food to eat is a bit more of a challenge. Last week alone I had one kid at the studio 5 days. Boy do I miss the days when I could just swing through fast food and grab everyone a burger…wait did I just say? Despite not following a food allergy diet, we hardly hit fast food. But, it sure would be nice to have the option.

Last Friday, was one of my two days off from dance. I should’ve taken this time to make a more complicated meal. But I didn’t. I just wanted to eat something quick and spend some time with my family, all at the same time! So, I searched my cupboards and found two packets of Lemon Jello and decided on this recipe. I’ve made it before, but surprisingly hadn’t posted it yet.

20131108_180252

Here it is:

Tangy Lemon Jello Chicken

Ingredients:

6-8 Chicken Breasts

6 oz Lemon Jello

3 TBS melted DF Butter

1 TBS Dijon Mustard

1 Small Onion chopped finely or 1 TBSP Onion Flakes

Directions:

Mix together Butter, Lemon Jello, Dijon Mustard, and Onion. It will become a thickish paste (mine has been thicker with the dried flakes then with the fresh onion). Place chicken into the crock pot. Paint the chicken breast with the Jello mix. If frozen chicken cook on low for 6-8 hours, if chicken is thawed take about 90 mins off that time.

My kids love this one. The chicken turns a nice yellow color and has a bit of a sweet and tangy flavor to it. My picture doesn’t look all that great, but the meal is fantastic.

What have you been cooking? I’d love to hear all about it!

2 Comments

  1. pamasaurus

    Good luck with balancing life with all the rehearsals! I’m sure it’ll totally be worth it.

    I would’ve never thought of using Jello in a savory dish like this, but it looks pretty delicious!

    • Thanks! I’m going to be exhausted when it’s all done but it will be awesome to see them on stage! This dish is awesome, my kids love it….which is nice because they’ve decided to become picky eaters all of a sudden.

Leave a Reply

