Food Allergy Experience

Pizza, Pizza (Gluten-Free, Vegan)

Do you remember the Little Cesar Pizza commercials….Pizza, pizza. I attached a link to YouTube in case you’re not familiar with the “pizza, pizza”. It really doesn’t have much of anything to do with this post, except that it explains my title. Although, I’m quite certain that there’s something wrong with me spending so long to explain such a simple thing such as my title. I’m certain there is some sort of rule on writing or list of things not to do when blogging which addresses this. IF there’s not there should be. And I’ve now completely digressed from my topic.

Pizza (pizza, pizza) is a household favorite in many homes. It is a favorite of many kids. As an adult, it is one of my favorite foods. I honestly could eat pizza several nights a week without complaining. One of the best things about pizza is it’s diversity. You can put almost  anything on a pizza. Pizza toppings can vary from the traditional pepperoni to the less common of hotdogs or potato and onions.

I will admit, pizza (pizza, pizza) was something I was certain my little guy would not be able to enjoy. Afterall, the main ingredients to any pizza is wheat, cheese and egg. He was allergic to all three of those. Since then I’ve experimented with different options. I used Energ-G English Muffins, tomato past with Italian seasoning, pepperoni, and Daiya cheese. And this works well and it’s easy to send to daycare because they can microwave it to melt the cheese. But it’s not perfect and if you’ve had a regular pizza, there’s something lacking.

I’ve tried a couple of times to make homemade pizza crusts. But have failed. Well, that was until most recently. I finally found a gluten-free pizza crust that tastes good and works without eggs. I can’t really take credit for it as I took it off the Bisquick gluten-free flour box.

IMG_20140618_221306

Vegan, Gluten-free Pizza Crust

Ingredients:

1 1/3 cups Bisquick Gluten free mix

1/2 tsp Italian seasoning or dried basil

1/2 cup Water

1/3 cup Oil

Egg Replacer for 2 Eggs

Directions:

Heat oven to 425. Stir together ingredients until well combined. Spread onto the pan. I made individual pizzas so I divided the crust into four  parts. Bake 15 mins. Then apply pizza toppings.

IMG_20140609_174135IMG_20140609_175118

Our pizzas were like thin crust pizzas. Typically I’m not a huge fan of thin crust, but it really was pretty good. My kids both loved the pizza. This is a crust I will make again.

As for the flour itself, I’ve also tried the pancake recipe and we liked that. I plan to try the Strawberry shortcake and the biscuits. When I do I’ll let you know how they turn out.

 

Leave a Reply

