Food Allergy Experience

(Not) All ’bout Those Hives

This morning was one of those mornings. You know when you don’t want to get out of bed but because you’re a mom, you take one for the team. That was this morning. I hit snooze on my alarm waking me up to go exercise and slept a few more minutes. And then started our usual morning routine.

My Little Guy is getting tired of hash browns. He’s had them now for almost a week straight. He’s been eating his cheese over hash browns as a step to introduce milk into his diet. So, instead of trying to convince him to eat the hash browns, I got a string cheese from the fridge, cut off a small check and gave it to him. He ate it, but didn’t like it.

Later school called, hives. He had them on his back, stomach, neck and face and he was itchy. They did an amazing job getting him his Benadryl and calling me. I called the allergist and then went to check on him. He was doing fine and besides being tired from the Benadryl and the we added on Zyrtec, he was his usual cheerful self.

I did hear back from the allergist with a plan going forward. We’re not giving up on cheese but we are sticking to one kind-of cheese. In this case, it will be shredded cheddar cheese for max. We’ll go back to a TBSP of cheese and work our way up to 1/4 of a cup before trying string cheese again.

A slight set back but not the end of cheese therapy. I’ll admit, part of me is a bit disappointed. I hate seeing my Little Guy uncomfortable and I really liked making progress. I also loved the idea of going out for ice cream once we’d completed therapy. I know, a bit selfish….Instead of getting discouraged, I am reminded that this is still progress. It was, after all, less than six months ago and he couldn’t finish a a whole muffin with 1/2 cup of milk in 12 muffins.

I am grateful the Little Guy is home and getting ready to bed just as normal. I am thankful that this reaction was just hives and nothing more. And, I’m glad we can continue with cheese.

 

Leave a Reply

